C.S. from Hartford County, Connecticut writes:
Dear Mister Condo,
I saw the notice in “CONNECT with CAI” about the Annual Recording Law. My association hasn’t done this in years, if ever. So I sent the info to our Town Clerk. It was returned saying to have it recorded in the land records there is a $53 fee. Do we really have to do that every year like SOS filing?
Mister Condo replies:
“Yes. Connecticut General Statutes Section 42-270(e) says that every association must file a notice with the Town Clerk stating the name and address of the person from whom a Resale Certificate can be requested, and the Town Clerk must file it in the town’s land records. The fee for filing anything in the land records is currently $53.00 for the first page plus $5.00 each additional page. This filing must be done annually every January, and also within 30 days after the information changes.”